Chakras are the energy centers in our body. Chakras (meaning wheel in Sanskrit) represent the meeting points for the different energy channels in our body. When energy is blocked in any of the channels, it can lead to physical or emotional distress. There are forty-nine chakras mentioned in the Vedas, seven of which are the main chakras along the spine.

In this article, we will focus on the seven main chakras and a simple meditation technique meant for beginners. We’ll also explore the benefits of balancing each individual chakra and the impact of an imbalanced chakra on our physical and mental well-being.

The Seven Main Chakras

1) Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)

Symbolized by a lotus with one-thousand multi-colored petals, the crown chakra is said to be located at the top of the head. Sahasrara is generally considered to be the state of pure consciousness. It is represented by the color violet.

2) Ajna (Third-Eye Chakra)

Symbolized by a lotus with two petals, Ajna is called the third-eye chakra because it is linked to the pineal gland. It is represented by the color indigo blue. In Hinduism, the third-eye holds a significant meaning as it refers to the invisible eye between the eye brows which provides perception beyond sight.

3) Vishuddha (Throat Chakra)

Vishuddha is located in the throat and is often compared to thyroid, a gland in the throat which produces thyroid hormone, responsible for growth and maturation. It is represented by the color pale blue. It is symbolized by a silver crescent within a white circle, with 16 pale blue petals.

4) Anahata (Heart Chakra)

Also called the heart mind, the heart chakra is symbolized by a circular flower with twelve petals, containing a hexagram. It is represented by the color green and is located at the chest.

5) Manipura (Navel Chakra)

Located just above the navel, Manipura is represented by the color yellow. It is symbolized by a downward triangle with ten petals.  Manipura governs the digestive system.

6) Svadhishthana (Sacral Chakra)

Placed at the sacral bone, Svadhishthana is represented by the color silver. It is symbolized by a lotus with crescent moon inside, with six petals. Svadhishthana governs the reproductive system.

7) Muladhara (Root Chakra)

Symbolized by a lotus with four petals, it is represented by the color red. Muladhara is located at the base of the spine. Muladhara is related to instinct, survival, and security.

When Chakras Are Imbalanced

If any of the chakras are stagnant or suffer from low energy, it can lead to various disorders.


Mentioned below are the chakras and the respective physical and emotional symptoms:

1) Crown Chakra Imbalance

Physical symptoms – Depression, inability to learn, sensitivity to light, sound, and environment.

Emotional symptoms – Issues with self-knowledge and greater power, fear of alienation, rigid opinions and beliefs.

2) Third-Eye Chakra Imbalance

Physical symptoms – Headaches, blurred vision, sinus issues, eyestrain, hearing loss, hormone problems.

Emotional symptoms – Mood swings, volatility, inability to learn from others, exaggerated imagination, day dreaming.

3) Throat Chakra Imbalance

Physical Symptoms – Thyroid issues, low energy, sore throat, ear infection, neck and shoulder pain.

Emotional symptoms – Issues with communication, fear of no power or choice, lack of will power.

4) Heart Chakra Imbalance

Physical symptoms – Heart disease, asthma, lung disease, upper back and shoulder problems, arm and wrist pain.

Emotional Symptoms – Possessiveness, jealousy, anger, bitterness, fear of loneliness.

5) Navel Chakra Imbalance

Physical symptoms – Digestive issues, liver problems, high blood pressure, diabetes, fatigue, stomach ulcers, pancreatic problems, colon diseases.

Emotional symptoms – Issues of self-esteem and power, fear of rejection and criticism.

6) Sacral Chakra Imbalance

Physical symptoms – Sexual or reproductive problems, urinary problems, kidney dysfunction, hip or lower back pain.

Emotional symptoms – Inability to commit to relationships, inability to express emotions, fear of impotence, betrayal, and addictions.

7) Root Chakra Imbalance

Physical symptoms – Issues with legs, feet, rectum, tailbone, and immune system; reproductive issues, prostate problems.

Emotional symptoms – Insecurity, feelings affecting our basic survival needs.

When the Chakras Are Balanced

The whole objective of Chakra meditation is to balance the different chakras and nullify the various symptoms related to imbalanced chakras. When chakras are well-balanced, it can lead to the following benefits:

1) Crown Chakra – Ability to live in the present moment. It activates our inner guru.

2) Third-Eye Chakra – Clarity and focus. Ability to differentiate between reality and illusion. Openness to wisdom and insight.

3) Throat Chakra – Effective communication, honesty, and truthfulness. Good listening skills.

4) Heart Chakra – Feeling of joy, love, compassion, gratitude, and the ability to forgive.

5) Navel Chakra – Assertiveness, confidence, and a feeling of total control. Feeling of self-respect and self-compassion.

6) Sacral Chakra – Creativity, ability to take risks, and willingness to commit to a relationship.

7) Root Chakra – A sense of connection to the physical world.

The Chakra Stones

Chakra Meditation needs to be performed with the aid of crystals or with the respective stones for each chakra. These stones or crystals are known to restore the energy of the focal points. Mentioned below are the crystals or stones that represent each chakra:

Crown Chakra – Amethyst or White Topaz

Third-Eye Chakra – Lapis Lazuli or Sapphire

Throat Chakra – Blue Topaz or Turquoise

Heart Chakra – Rose Quartz or Angelite

Navel Chakra – Carnelian or Orange Zincite

Sacral Chakra – Citrine or Yellow Jasper

Root Chakra – Ruby or Hematite

Chakra Meditation Technique for Beginners

1) The first step is to sit in Sukhasana (cross-legged position) and take a few deep breaths. Analyze the problem in your body or any other emotional issue that is bothering you.

2) Once you’ve identified the problem, locate the Chakra that is related to the problem.

3) Lie down on the yoga mat and place the stone or crystal on the chakra that requires healing. Breathe here. Focus every breath at the focal point where you’ve placed the stone. For best results, let the stone touch your bare skin. Feel the positive energy as you inhale and release the negative energy as you exhale.

4) If you’re performing Chakra meditation for the whole body, then it is advisable to work from top to bottom. So start with Crown Chakra and end with Root Chakra. Take one chakra at a time. Feel relaxed and peaceful. Once again, feel the positive energy as you breathe in and release the negative energy as you breathe out.

5) Once you’re done with the Chakra meditation, rub your face with your palms and slowly open your eyes. Drink a glass of water and observe the sensations in your body. Feel the difference in your mind as you complete Chakra meditation.

This Chakra meditation technique is meant to be practiced by beginners. There are other advanced Chakra meditation techniques which we will explore in the coming weeks. But for now, experience the positive effects of this simple Chakra meditation technique. Chakra meditation enables us to reconnect with our soul and the very essence of our existence.

Hope you found this guide useful. Let us know your views on this meditation technique in the comments section.

Previous articleHow to Practice Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation Yoga)
Next article10 Incredible (and Science-Backed) Health Benefits of Bananas
Editorial Staff at Soulful Arogya is a team of bloggers led by Sandeep Mallya.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.